Albino Squirrel – Selsdon Wood

Hi Science Fans,

Today I took a walk in Selsdon Wood and found an albino squirrel. They are incredibly rare so if you get a chance you should take a wander and see if you can see him. It is estimated that there are only around 25 in the UK. That is 1 in 100,000 squirrels! They seem to like it in Surrey so you’ve got a chance of seeing one if you’re quiet and look for moving leaves. I spotted this one in the far corner of the woods.

IMG_1644

For the whole story… http://wildsouthlondon.wordpress.com

Mr H-P

9 thoughts on “Albino Squirrel – Selsdon Wood

  1. That’s amazing! Wow! Can not believe how grey and white their tail actually is!
    Mr H-P that is my fascination of the day. Your very lucky to see one!
    I’m keeping an eye out for when I go on my next bike ride, I will go in the wood, try and spot one! WOW.
    And btw good night! Tbh I am tired. Good night!💤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We spotted an Albino squirrel at South Croydon recreation ground a couple of years ago. I had no idea they were so rare, I should have taken a photo as my son (now in yr2) was too young to remember it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome! Maybe you should go looking for the Selsdon Wood albino, and take your camera this time!

      Like

  3. I have hand reared many orphaned squirrels (along with the help of my daughter kelsey who is in your wildlife club) but never seen a white one before. I will try and add some photos of the latest squirrels we reared.

    Like

    1. Fascinating! Did you find the babies? I’ve heard that sometimes when trees are cut down, they’re found in the middle. It must be great seeing them scuttling off back into the wild!

      Like

      1. My partner is a tree surgeon and tries moving the dreys if the tree us coming down and will go back and check later in the day but mum rarely returns. So he brings them home in the end and we hand rear them. It is a wonderful experience.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Mr Pembrose, just contacting you to check if science club is on tomorrow. Then i know if im picking kelsey up after school or after science club!

    Like

Leave a comment